David Barnett
Intake Overview: Plaintiff David A. Barnett, date of birth March 4, 1978 (age 46 at the time of this summary), is a portfolio manager at Harwick Capital on Park Avenue. His employment status at the time of the incident is not expressly stated in the intake, though his occupation is identified. He is married to Rachel Barnett (née Cohen), and the intake reflects that he has children, as Mrs. Barnett took on additional childcare responsibilities during his recovery. Plaintiff resides at 340 East 64th Street, Apartment 8B, New York, NY 10065. The incident occurred at The Horse Box, 218 Avenue A, New York, NY, which is within New York County, providing an independent basis for venue in addition to plaintiff's place of residence. On the evening of Wednesday, February 12, 2019, plaintiff was exiting The Horse Box bar at 218 Avenue A with colleagues Michael Torres and Greg Shen. While descending a ramp to exit the premises, plaintiff's foot slid out from under him on a ramp that was allegedly slippery, inadequately lit, and lacking any non-slip material. He fell hard, landing primarily on his right knee and twisting his lower back. Both Mr. Torres and Mr. Shen witnessed the fall; Mr. Torres assisted plaintiff to his feet. A staff member — described as possibly a bartender or floor manager — was summoned but did not complete an incident report. Plaintiff initially declined ambulance transport at the scene. This matter is categorized as premises liability — trip and fall. It is not a wrongful death case. Two defendants have been identified. Horsebox Inc. is identified as the operator of The Horse Box at 218 Avenue A, New York, NY. 218 A LLC is identified as the owner of the premises at 218 Avenue A, New York, NY. Neither defendant appears to be a governmental, quasi-governmental, or municipal entity, and no TLC or rideshare vehicle is implicated. No police, FDNY, or EMS response at the scene has been reported in the intake. Rachel Barnett (née Cohen), plaintiff's wife, is identified as a potential derivative claimant for loss of consortium. The intake reflects that during plaintiff's recovery, Mrs. Barnett took on additional household and childcare responsibilities and reduced her own professional workload. Mrs. Barnett is an architect by occupation. Injuries and Treatment: Plaintiff claims the following injuries arising from the February 12, 2019 fall: a torn meniscus of the right knee, a partial MCL sprain of the right knee, lumbar strain and lower back pain, post-surgical knee pain and stiffness, possible future arthritis of the right knee, loss of the ability to run, and difficulty with lateral movement and prolonged walking. Plaintiff did not accept ambulance transport at the scene. He presented to the Lenox Hill Hospital Emergency Room on the same day as the incident, February 12, 2019. Details regarding the specific ER evaluation, imaging performed at that visit, any diagnosis rendered in the ER, and whether plaintiff was admitted as an inpatient are not provided in the intake. Plaintiff subsequently came under the care of Dr. Marcus Webb. The intake records a start date for Dr. Webb's office treatment of February 1, 2019, which predates the incident date of February 12, 2019; this date conflict is flagged below and must be clarified before case acceptance. The end date of Dr. Webb's office treatment is not provided, and it is unclear whether treatment with Dr. Webb remains ongoing. On approximately April 3, 2019 — described in the intake as roughly two months after the February 2019 fall — plaintiff underwent surgery performed by Dr. Marcus Webb at Lenox Hill Hospital. The specific surgical procedure is not identified in the intake beyond its relation to the right knee injuries claimed. The intake notes that the year of surgery is inferred as 2019 based on the approximate timeline and flags that the year should be verified. Following surgery, plaintiff received outpatient rehabilitation at Lenox Hill Outpatient Rehabilitation. The date range for rehabilitation, the specific providers involved, and the current status of that treatment are not provided in the intake. No diagnostic imaging studies (MRI, CT, X-ray, or EMG) are specifically identified by modality, date, or facility in the intake, though such studies would ordinarily be expected given the diagnoses claimed. No further scheduled surgery or future treatment appointments are identified. No information regarding New York no-fault insurance is present, as this is a premises liability matter rather than a motor vehicle accident. Key Facts and Liability Considerations: - Statute of limitations: The applicable statute of limitations for a premises liability claim in New York is three years from the date of incident (February 12, 2019), placing the SOL deadline at February 12, 2022. The SOL has expired. The attorney must evaluate whether any tolling doctrine, discovery rule, or other exception may apply before any decision is made regarding case acceptance or commencement. - SOL status — critical: Based on the incident date of February 12, 2019 and a three-year premises liability SOL, this matter appears to be time-barred as of February 12, 2022. This is the single most significant threshold issue for case acceptance and must be addressed immediately. - No incident report completed: A staff member was summoned at the scene but did not complete an incident report. This creates an evidentiary gap regarding contemporaneous documentation of the hazardous condition. - Eyewitnesses identified: Michael Torres and Greg Shen were both present and witnessed the fall. Mr. Torres assisted plaintiff to his feet. Both are identified by name and relationship (colleagues), though contact information for either witness is not provided in the intake. - Photographic evidence identified: Michael Torres photographed the ramp on the night of the incident. Plaintiff photographed the ramp approximately two weeks after the incident. These photographs, if preserved and authenticated, may provide material evidence of the alleged hazardous condition. - Date conflict in treating provider records: The intake records Dr. Marcus Webb's office treatment as beginning February 1, 2019, which is eleven days before the February 12, 2019 incident. This internal inconsistency must be resolved before case acceptance, as it may reflect a data entry error or may indicate preexisting treatment with Dr. Webb for conditions involving the same body parts now claimed. - Preexisting conditions: No preexisting conditions, prior injuries, or prior treatment to the right knee or lower back are identified in the intake. However, the anomalous February 1, 2019 start date for Dr. Webb's office care raises the question of whether plaintiff was already treating with Dr. Webb before the incident and for what condition. - Loss of consortium claim: Rachel Barnett is identified as a potential derivative claimant. The intake reflects concrete conduct supporting a consortium claim (reduced work hours, increased household and childcare responsibilities during recovery), strengthening the derivative damages narrative if the underlying claim is viable. - No governmental defendant identified: Neither Horsebox Inc. nor 218 A LLC appears to be a governmental or quasi-governmental entity. No notice of claim requirement has been flagged. - No retainer, HIPAA authorization, or limited POA signed as of intake. - Extraction confidence: The intake extraction carries a confidence score of 0.88, indicating a meaningful margin of uncertainty. All material facts should be confirmed directly with the plaintiff. Information Gaps: - Statute of limitations basis for filing: Given that the three-year SOL appears to have expired on February 12, 2022, the attorney should determine immediately whether any tolling argument (infancy, incapacity, COVID-19 tolling orders, fraudulent concealment, or otherwise) applies before making an acceptance decision. This is the most critical gap. - Plaintiff's employment status at the time of the incident: The intake identifies plaintiff's occupation and employer but does not confirm whether he was employed full-time at Harwick Capital on the date of the incident, which is material to any lost earnings or lost wages component of damages. - Number and identity of dependents: The intake implies children exist but does not state their number, ages, or names, which are relevant to Mrs. Barnett's consortium and derivative damages narrative. - Date conflict for Dr. Marcus Webb office treatment: The intake records a treatment start date of February 1, 2019, predating the February 12, 2019 incident by eleven days. It is unknown whether this reflects a data entry error or preexisting treatment with Dr. Webb for the same body parts now claimed. This must be clarified before case acceptance. - Specific surgical procedure: The nature of the surgery performed by Dr. Marcus Webb on April 3, 2019 at Lenox Hill Hospital is not identified (e.g., arthroscopic meniscectomy, meniscal repair, other). This detail is material to the injury narrative. - Year of surgery confirmation: The intake flags that the April 3 surgery year of 2019 is inferred and should be verified directly with the plaintiff. - Diagnostic imaging: No MRI, CT, X-ray, or EMG studies are identified by modality, date, or imaging facility. Confirmation of what studies were performed, when, and where is needed so that separate radiology records requests can be issued. - ER evaluation details: The specific diagnoses rendered at the Lenox Hill Hospital ER on February 12, 2019, any imaging performed at that visit, and whether plaintiff was admitted or discharged are not provided. - Status and end date of Dr. Marcus Webb's office treatment: It is unknown whether plaintiff continues to treat with Dr. Webb and, if treatment has concluded, when it ended. - Status and date range of Lenox Hill Outpatient Rehabilitation: The start date, end date, treating providers, and current status of plaintiff's outpatient rehabilitation are not provided. - Future scheduled surgery or treatment: The intake does not indicate whether any further surgery or treatment has been scheduled. Given the noted possibility of future arthritis of the knee, this should be explored. - Preexisting conditions, prior injuries, and prior treatment to the right knee and lower back: No preexisting history is provided, and the anomalous February 1, 2019 treatment start date heightens the importance of obtaining a complete prior medical history for the affected body parts. - Contact information for eyewitnesses Michael Torres and Greg Shen: Neither witness's address, phone number, nor employer is provided. Witness preservation is time-sensitive, particularly given the age of this matter. - Photographs: While the intake identifies photographs taken by Michael Torres (night of incident) and by plaintiff (approximately two weeks later), it is unknown whether these photographs have been preserved, in what format, and in whose possession they currently reside. - Identity of the staff member summoned at the scene: The person described as possibly a bartender or floor manager who was called following the fall is not identified by name, title, or any other identifying information. - Corporate status and registered agent information for Horsebox Inc. and 218 A LLC: Full corporate details, registered agents, and any additional principals are not provided and will be needed for service of process. - Health insurance information: Plaintiff's health insurance carrier is not identified. Medicare, Medicaid, or self-funded ERISA plan involvement — each of which carries lien or subrogation exposure — is not addressed. - Workers' compensation: Given that plaintiff was exiting a bar with colleagues on a weekday evening, it is unknown whether any workers' compensation claim was filed or whether the outing had any employment nexus that could implicate a workers' compensation lien. - Prior representation: It is not stated whether plaintiff was previously represented by another firm in connection with this incident. - Parallel criminal or regulatory proceedings: No information regarding any criminal, administrative, or regulatory action arising from this incident is provided. - Referral source: The referral source is listed as null in the intake. --- PRELIMINARY MEDICAL CHRONOLOGY 2019-02-12 — Lenox Hill Hospital Emergency Room — Initial ER visit, same day as incident; specific diagnoses, imaging, and admission status unknown; records not yet obtained. 2019-02-01 — Dr. Marcus Webb's Office — Office treatment (note: this date predates the February 12, 2019 incident date by eleven days; data conflict must be resolved); end date of office treatment unknown; records not yet obtained. 2019-04-03 — Lenox Hill Hospital — Surgery performed by Dr. Marcus Webb; specific procedure unknown; year of 2019 is inferred from intake and should be verified; records not yet obtained. Date unknown — Lenox Hill Outpatient Rehabilitation — Post-surgical outpatient rehabilitation; treating providers, start date, end date, and current status unknown; records not yet obtained.
Viewing David Barnett. Ask me about this case, or for general guidance.